Students First Advisory Council (SFAC)

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 BMCC 2016 Students First RGB Logo 185x

Blue Mountain Community College reflects its commitment to Students First in that students feel valued, supported, and encouraged by the campus community from the time they decide to enroll until they complete their educational goals.  Students respond to this commitment through their engagement, persistence, and successful completion of their educational goals.     (est. 1/25/16 by the BMCC Students First Advisory Council)

Purpose and Charge:

To assure that BMCC strategic enrollment initiatives and policies are connected to both immediate as well as long term college goals supporting equitable access, progression, and completion for students.

The Students First Advisory Council will discuss, develop, recommend, monitor, and evaluate all aspects of BMCC’s three year strategic enrollment management (SEM) plan related to recruitment, retention, graduation, transfer, alumni engagement, and the overall experience of BMCC students. This committee is advisory to the Vice President of Student Affairs, Vice President of Instruction, and Vice President of Public Relations.

Reports To:

  • The SFAC will report twice a year to President’s Cabinet and College Coordinating Council as follows:

    1. Fall term – Report on goals for the year
    2. Spring term - Report on outcomes for the year

2017 - 2018 Priority Objectives

  • Equity:
    • Continue work that has been started with emphasis on data analysis.  We need to assess where the student achievement gaps may be.
  • First Year Experience:
    • Commitment to establishing what this is at BMCC this next year
      • Diane Drebin and MJ Kuhar to provide some guidance and structure for the group
      • Honor work that Velda Arnaud, Carl Melle, and Cheri Kendrick started
      • Incorporate parts already in place (NSO, Welcome to the Pack, onboarding with Success Coach)
      • Consider the possibility of a second year experience
      • Incorporate guided pathways
      • Use student focus groups to help inform the committee's work

Connection to BMCC 2015-2020 Core Themes and Strategic Plan:

Goal #1BMCC is committed to providing a "Students First" learning environment

Goal #2Relevant and dynamic BMCC Curriculum

Current Agenda:

 SFAC 04.20.18

Current Meeting Notes:

SFAC 01.26.18

Meeting Notes From Prior Years:

SFAC 10.31.16

SFAC 12.2.16 Notes, Handouts 1-5    Handout 6

SFAC 2.10.17 Notes, Handouts   PowerPoint Students First Advisory Report  

   PowerPoint Summer Bridge

Membership Roster:





Diane Drebin, VP Student Affairs
Casey White-Zollman, VP of Public Relations
MJ Kuhar, VP of Instruction

Annual Rotation

Executive Liaison

Cam Preus, President


Administrative Support/Recorder

Shannon Franklin, Exec. Asst. President's Office
Stacie Stahl, Admin. Asst. Office of Instruction
Linda Zojonc, Admin. Asst. Student Affairs

 Annual Rotation

Dean, CTE & Community Education

Carl Melle, Dean of CTE & Com. Ed. or designee

Velda Arnaud, Business Faculty

Matt Liscom, Agriculture Faculty


Annual Rotation
Annual Rotation

General Education and STEM

Ki Russell, English Faculty
Peter Hernberg, Math/Computer Science Faculty

Annual Rotation

Student Support Services & Enrollment Management (as assigned or by Director designee)

Vacant - Dean of Student Development & Success
Theresa Bosworth, Director of Enrollment Services/Registrar
Yadira Gonzalez, Director or Student Financial Services
Dawn DiFuria, Director of Outreach & Student Leadership
Roman Olivera, TRiO Director
Jackie Ray, Director of Library & Media Services
Naamah Franke, Boardman/Hermiston Coord.
MaryJane Bagwell, Director of College Prep

Vacant (Faculty Advisor)






Annual Rotation

Faculty at Large

 Stan Beach, Math Faculty

Annual Rotation

Student Representation

Sarah Walker

Annual Rotation

Data Team


Tim Wilson, Direcgtor of Institutional Effectiveness
Kedar Koirala, Institutional Research

Ron Neeley, Math Faculty



Annual Rotation

Center Representation (as assigned or by Director designee)

Susan Kralman, Milton-Freewater Director
Jacelyn Keys, Hermiston Director
Dan Koopman, Baker Director
Anne Morter, Boardman Director


College Coordinating Council Representative
(1 Faculty, 1 Non-faculty)

Philip Schmitz, Science Faculty

Annual Rotation

Public Relations/Marketing/Alumni Representation

Anne Livingston, Director of Marketing or designee
Margaret Gianotti, Foundation Director



Administrative Services Representation

Celeste Insko, AVP for Business & Finance Operations

Annual Rotation